Alban Bagbin declares NPP caucus Majority in 8th Parliament



According to reports, the decision of Andrew Asiamah Amoako, the Independent Member of Parliament for Fomena, to do business with the NPP caucus in the House has earned the governing party the Majority status.

Speaker of the House, Alban Sumana Bagbin, reading out a letter requesting to do business with the NPP caucus submitted by Mr Amoako Asiamah to him, disclosed that his wishes have been granted, and as such resulted in the NPP being the Majority side in the house.

“What we have now, you have the New Patriotic Party wing or caucus in Parliament together with the independent Member of Parliament from Fomena, and they now constitute the Majority group,” Alban Bagbin told the House on Friday, January 15.

The declaration by the Speaker of the House puts to bed all arguments about which side of the house has attained the Majority.

The declaration was met with an eruption of cheers from the NPP Members of Parliament as they waved white handkerchiefs and chorused in unity songs of praise.

In a typical repetition of events, earlier on that day Friday 15, over 70 Members of Parliament of the New Patriotic Party, all clad in white apparel stormed the chambers parliament around 4 am to occupy the right-hand side of the Speaker.

Last week, their counterparts at the other side of the house, did same; a situation which culminated into chaos as some of the NPP members who were beside themselves with chagrin attempted to oust them from their rightful seats.

Member of Parliament for Ablekuma West ended up in the lap of her colleague MP, Mintah Akandoh as she sought to get him to move from her seat.




Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here